RULES RELATING TO COMPULSORY IN-SERVICE TRAINING STANDARDS FOR LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICERS, JAILORS OR CUSTODIAL OFFICERS, COURTROOM SECURITY OFFICERS, PROCESS SERVICE OFFICERS AND OFFICERS OF THE DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS, DIVISION OF

INSTITUTIONAL SERVICES OPERATIONS

6 VAC 20-30-10	Definitions.
6 VAC 20-30-20	Applicability.
6 VAC 20-30-30	Compulsory in-service training standards.
6 VAC 20-30-40	Time requirement for completion of training.
6 VAC 20-30-50	How compulsory minimum training standards may be attained.
6 VAC 20-30-60	Requirements for in-service training.
6 VAC 20-30-70	Testing and grading.
6 VAC 20-30-80	Firearms training.
6 VAC 20-30-90	Failure to comply with rules and regulations
6 VAC 20-30-100	Administrative requirements.
6 VAC 20-30-110	Effective date.
6 VAC 20-30-120	Adopted.
6 VAC 20-30-130	Amended.

6 VAC 20-30-10 Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, shall have the following meaning, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.

"Academy director" means the chief administrative officer of a certified training academy.

"Agency administrator" means any chief of police, sheriff or agency head of a state or local law-enforcement agency, or corrections agency.

"Board" means the Criminal Justice Services Board.

"Certified training academy" means a training school which provides instruction of at least the minimum training standards as mandated by the board and has been approved by the department for the specific purpose of training criminal justice personnel.

"Criminal justice officer" means a law-enforcement officer, jailor or custodial officer, courtroom security officer, process service officer and officers of the Department of Corrections, Division of Institutional Services Operations. Officers of the Department of Corrections, Division of Institutional Services Operations, means a correctional officer, sergeant, lieutenant, captain, major, assistant superintendent, superintendent, assistant warden and warden.

"Department" means the Department of Criminal Justice Services.

"Director" means the chief administrative officer of the department.

"Multi-media" means distance learning methods to include video, film, disc, computer-based training, internet-based training or satellite-based training.

Statutory Authority

9-170-102 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR240-01-2 \$1; eff. January 1, 1988; amended, Virginia Register Volume 5, Issue 18, eff. July 5, 1989; Volume 8, Issue 16, eff. July 1, 1992.

6 VAC 20-30-20 Applicability.

- A. Every person employed as a law-enforcement officer, as defined by §9 169(9)9.1-101 of the Code of Virginia, shall meet compulsory in-service training standards as set forth in 6VAC20-30-30 A.
- B . Every person employed as a jailor or custodial officer under the provisions of Title 53.1 of the Code of Virginia, shall meet compulsory in-service training standards as set forth in 6VAC20-30-30
- C. Every person employed as a courtroom security or process service officer under the provisions of Title 53.1 of the Code of Virginia shall meet compulsory in-service training standards as set forth in 6VAC20-30-30 C.
- D. Every person employed as an officer of the Department of Corrections, Division of Institutional Services Operations, as defined herein shall meet compulsory in-service training standards as set forth in 6VAC20-30-30 D.

Statutory Authority

Historical Notes

Derived from VR240-01-2 \$2; eff. January 1, 1988; amended, Virginia Register Volume 5, Issue 18, eff. July 5, 1989; Volume 8, Issue 16, eff. July 1, 1992.

6 VAC 20-30-30 Compulsory in-service training standards.

Pursuant to the provisions of subdivisions (1), (3), (5), (6) and (7) of §§9-170-9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia, the board establishes the following as the compulsory in-service training standards for law-enforcement officers, jailors or custodial officers, courtroom security officers, process service officers and officers of the Department of Corrections, Division of Institutional Services Operations.

- - a. Subjects to be provided are at the discretion of the agency administrator or the board academy director of a certified training academy. No more than eight hours of firearms training shall be approved as elective subjects. Firearms training shall be applied as follows:
 - (1) No more than four hours applied to firearms qualification as provided in 6VAC20-30-80; and
 - (2) Remaining hours eligible for situational or decision making training.

(May include subjects provided in subsections B and C of this section.)

* (Testing optional, but strongly encouraged).

В.	Jailors or custodial officers.	TOTAL 24 Hours
	1 . Cultural diversity training	2 Hours
	2 . Legal training.	4 Hours
	Subjects to be provided are at the discretion of the agency administrator or the board of a certific and shall be designated as legal training.	d training academy
	3 . Career development/elective training	

- a . Subjects to be provided are at the discretion of the agency administrator or the boardacademy director of a certified training academy. No more than eight hours of firearms training shall be approved as elective subjects. Firearms training shall be applied as follows:
 - (1) No more than four hours applied to firearms qualification as provided in 6VAC20-30-80; and
 - (2) Remaining hours eligible for situational or decision making training.

* (Testing optional, but strongly encouraged.)

C . Courtroom security officers and process service officers	
1. Cultural diversity training 2 Hours	
2 . Legal training	
Subjects to be provided are at the discretion of the agency administrator or the boardacademy director of a certified training academy and shall be designated as legal training.	
3 . Career development/elective training	
(May include subjects provided in subsections A and B of this section.)	
a . Subjects to be provided are at the discretion of the agency administrator or the board of a certified training academy. No more than eight hours of firearms training shall be approved as elective subjects. Firearms training shall be applied as follows:	
(1) No more than four hours applied to firearms qualification as provided in 6VAC20-30-80; and	
(2) Remaining hours eligible for situational and/or decision making training.	
* (Testing is optional, but strongly encouraged.)	
D . Officers of the Department of Corrections, Division of <u>Institutional ServicesOperations</u> .	
TOTAL HOURS FOR CORRECTIONAL OFFICERS AND SERGEANTS	
1. Cultural diversity training2 Hours	
2 . Legal training	
The subjects to be provided are at the discretion of the Director of the Department of Corrections or his designee and shall be designated as legal training.	
3 . Career development/elective training.	
Correctional officers and sergeants	
a. Subjects to be provided are at the discretion of the director of the Department of Corrections, Division of Institutional Services or his designee. No more than eight hours of firearms training shall be approved as elective subjects. Firearms training shall be applied as follows:	

- - (1) No more than four hours applied to firearms qualification as provided in 6VAC20-30-80; and
 - (2) Remaining hours eligible for situational or decision making training.

* (Testing is optional, but strongly encouraged).

Statutory Authority

§9-1709.1-102 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR240-01-2 §3; eff. January 1, 1988; amended, Virginia Register Volume 5, Issue 18, eff. July 5, 1989; Volume 8, Issue 16, eff. July 1, 1992.

Cross references

Compulsory in-service training standards of law-enforcement officers, 6 VAC 20-30-20

6 VAC 20-30-40 Time requirement for completion of training.

- A. Every law-enforcement officer, jailor or custodial officer, court security officer, process service officer, and officers of the Department of Corrections must complete compulsory in-service training by December 31 of the second calendar year following satisfactory completion of the entry-level compulsory minimum training standards, and must complete compulsory in-service training by December 31 of every other calendar year thereafter. In-service training hours may be carried over from the first calendar year to the second calendar year of the two-year period. However, should the required training be completed within the first calendar year of the two-year period, such training shall be reported to the department and a new due date for completion of in-service training shall be established for December 31 of the second calendar year following the completion date of such training.
- B. Approved-Mandated in-service training shall be conducted in no less than fourtwo-hour sessions and must be under the authority of a certified training academy and meet all requirements for conducting mandated training.
- C. The director may grant an extension of the time limit for completion of in-service training under the following conditions:
 - 1. The chief of police, sheriff or agency administrator shall present written notification that the officer was unable to complete the required training within the specified time limit due to:
 - a. Illness;
 - b. Injury;
 - c. Military service;
 - d. Special duty assignment required and performed in the public interest;
 - e . Administrative leave involving the determination of worker's compensation or disability retirement issues, full-time educational leave or suspension pending investigation or adjudication of a crime; or
 - f. Any other reason documented by the agency administrator. Such reason must be specified and any approval granted shall not exceed 90 daysan anticipated completion date provided. The department will determine and approve a reasonable timeframe based upon the justification provided with the extension request.
 - 2 . Any extension granted under subdivision C. 1. e. of 6 VAC 20 30 40 shall require the officer to complete in service training prior to resuming job duties. Request may be granted for periods not to exceed 12 months.
 - 3. Requests for extension of the time limit shall be received prior to the expiration of the normal in-service time limit.

Statutory Authority

§9-1709.1-102 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR240-01-2 §4; eff. January 1, 1988; amended, Virginia Register Volume 5, Issue 18, eff. July 5, 1989; Volume 8, Issue 16, eff. July 1, 1992.

6 VAC 20-30-50 How compulsory in-service training standards may be attained.

- A. In-service training school/sessions.
 - 1. In-service training shall be obtained by attending and completing an approved in-service training school or a series of approved in-service training sessions which combined comply with the compulsory in-service training standards. Such training must be attended at a certified training academy unless provided otherwise in accordance with 6 VAC 20-30-50, subsections B and C.
 - 2. Criminal justice officers attending approved in-service training shall not be placed on duty or on call except in cases of emergency.

3. Individuals who maintain training certification in secondary functions may comply with the compulsory in-service training standards by attending 40 hours of approved in-service training, provided that all legal training requirements are included for the designated secondary function(s) and that the career development/elective training is job related.

B. Partial in-service credit.

1. Individual. Upon written request of the chief of police, sheriff or agency administrator, the director may authorize attendance and successful completion of job-related courses for partial in-service credit. Such request shall be submitted no later than 60 days following the last day of the course. Whenever possible, such request should be submitted prior to the beginning date of the course. Any request for partial in-service credit shall include the name of the sponsoring agency, name and location of the course, and a curriculum which shall include at a minimum the date, time and instructor for each subject included in the course. Attendance shall be documented and records maintained as required by the records retention policy of the department submitted to the department for approval.

All such requests from the Department of Corrections shall be reviewed and endorsed by the training manager prior to being forwarded to the department for consideration.

2. Course. The director may approve job-related training courses offered by agencies, institutions, or private firmstraining providers that have not been certified as criminal justice academies as meeting the requirements to receive partial in-service credit. Requests for such approval shall be submitted 60 days prior to the commencement of the course on forms provided by the department. Courses meeting the minimum criteria may be approved for one year or until the course content is revised, whichever occurs first. The sponsoring agency-provider shall document attendance and maintain records as required by the records retention policy of the department. It shall be the responsibility of the officer receiving training to ensure that documentation of attendance is submitted to a certified training academy for tracking and subsequent submission to the department. The sponsoring agency shall also certify to the agency administrator that the officer successfully completed the course. The department shall only consider for approval requests from agencies, institutions, or private firmsproviders where there is an indication that criminal justice officers from Virginia have attended or will attend the course for which approval is requested.

Subsection B 2 of 6VAC20-30-30-50 shall not apply to any criminal justice agency or certified training academy in this Commonwealth.

C. In-service credit for electronically transmitted multi-media criminal justice programming.

- 1. The department may establish guidelines to approve job related electronically transmitted programs. Any such policy shall provide for no more than eight hours training credit annually and shall establish all administrative requirements
- 2. <u>Tested multi-media training-Training received via multi-media programs utilizing computer-generated or agency-administered objective-based testing may be applied toward in-service credit if:</u>
 - a. The training program is approved by the academy director or designee, and the instructional topic is directly related to criminal justice.
 - A post-viewing objective-based examination covering the instructional material is administered to
 the student by the academy director or designee, or administered via the multi-media presentation,
 and the student has no access to the examination or ability to affect, alter, or destroy the
 examination questions or examination results;
 - c. The student achieves a minimum passing score of 70% or above on a post-viewing examination, scored by the academy directror or designee, or the computer;
 - d. <u>All post-viewing examinations administered, and their results, shall be maintained in accordance with the appropriate Library of Virginia Retention Schedule. These records shall be made available to the department upon request.</u>

3. Administrative requirements

a. The academy director of the certified academy that approves multi-media training shall determine the number of hours of in-service credit to be awarded for each multi-media training session.

Statutory Authority

6 VAC 20-30-60 Requirements for in-service training.

- A. A curriculum listing the subject(s), instructor(s), date(s) and times for the entire proposed training session shall be submitted to the department 30 days prior to the beginning of each such proposed session. An exemption to the 30-day requirement may be granted for good cause shown by the academy director. In-service training shall be provided under the authority of a certified academy. At the option of the certified academy, such training may be conducted by the main academy or at an approved satellite academy. The certified academy may conduct training at an offsite facility if the facility is approved and an academy staff member acts as the coordinator for the program. The academy director shall provide the department field coordinator the date, time, and location of such training at least seven days in advance of the program. Failure to provide such notification negates the training approval. All necessary records must be maintained and documentation kept on file in accordance with the certified academy policy. Roll call training shall not be approved for in-service training.
- B. In-service training which is approved shall be subject to inspection and reviewed by the department. The department may deny in-service credit for any training that is not in compliance with training standards.
- C. The department may suspend the approval of an approved in service training school or session upon written notice, which shall contain the reason(s) upon which the suspension is based, to the academy's director. The academy's director may request a hearing before the director or his designee. The request shall be in writing and must be received by the department within 15 days of the date of the notice of suspension. The academy's director may appeal the director or designee's decision to the board or its designee.
- D. The department may revoke the approval of any training school or session upon written notice, which shall contain the reason(s) upon which the revocation is based, to the academy's director. The academy's director may request a hearing before the director or his designee. The request shall be in writing and must be received by the department within 15 days of the date of the notice of revocation. The academy's director may appeal the director or designee's decision to the board or its designeeA certified instructor may receive in-service credit for training conducted on an hour-for-hour basis.

 No more than 16 hours may be credited for in-service training per two year in-service period. In addition, each topic my be credited toward in-service training only once per two year in-service period. This provision only applies to the instructor that prepares and conducts the training. In-service credit is expressly prohibited for role players and evaluators.

Statutory Authority

9-170-9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR240-01-2 §6; eff. January 1, 1988; amended, Virginia Register Volume 5, Issue 18, eff. July 5, 1989; Volume 8, Issue 16, eff. July 1, 1992.

6 VAC 20-30-70 Testing and grading.

- A. In-service testing is optional, but strongly encouraged and recommended.
- B. All sheriffs, chiefs of police, and agency administrators shall be exempted from in-service testing.
- C. Tests for mandatory training should be developed in accordance with the approved lesson plan and objectives for each subject. Testing may be in the form of written or performance tests.
- D . A minimum score of 70% should be attained on all written tests. Performance testing requires satisfactory completion of performance objectives.
- E. Each certified training academy shall maintain accurate records of attendance, tests, and testing procedures, where applicable, utilized in in-service training schools. Training records shall be maintained in accordance with §§42.1-76 through 42.1-91 of the Code of Virginia.
- F. Each certified training academy should establish and maintain a testing and retesting policy. Testing, retesting and remedial training, where applicable, may be provided as necessary within the time limit in which the officer is required to comply with in-service training requirements.

G. Any criminal justice officer who fails to attain a minimum passing score on any tested subjects and upon exhausting the provisions of academy's testing and retesting policy should be provided remedial training. Remedial training may be provided at the certified training academy where the initial training was received by the officer or at the officer's employing agency. Upon completion of remedial training, the officer should be retested on the course material originally failed.

Statutory Authority

§9-170-9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR240-01-2 §7; eff. January 1, 1988; amended, Virginia Register Volume 5, Issue 18, eff. July 5, 1989; Volume 8, Issue 16, eff. July 1, 1992

6 VAC 20-30-80 Firearms training.

Every criminal justice officer required to carry a firearm in the performance of duty shall qualify annually using the applicable firearms course set forth below. Annual range qualification shall include a review of issues/policy relating to weapons safety, nomenclature, maintenance and use of force. With prior approval of the director, a reasonable modification of the firearms course may be approved to accommodate qualification on indoor ranges. No minimum number of hours is required.

- A. Law-enforcement officers, jailors or custodial officers, courtroom security officers and process service officers shall qualify annually with a minimum passing score of 70% on one of the following courses:
 - 1. Virginia Modified Double Action Course For Revolvers, 60 rounds, 7, 15, 25 yards shooting.
 - 2. Virginia Modified Double Action Course for Semi-automatic Pistols, 60 rounds, 7, 15, 25 yards shooting.
 - 3. Virginia Modified Combat Course I, 60 rounds, 25 15, 7 yards shooting.
 - 4. Virginia Modified Combat Course II, 60 rounds, 25, 15, 7, 5, 3 yards shooting.
 - 5. Virginia Qualification Course I, 50 rounds, 25 to 5 yards shooting.
 - 6. Virginia Qualification Course II, 60 rounds, 3 to 25 yards shooting
 - 7. Virginia Tactical Qualification Course I, 50 rounds, 5 or 7, 25 yards shooting
 - 8. Vvirginia Tactical Qualification Course II, 36 rounds, 3-25 yards shooting

Farget - Silhouette (B21, B21X, B27, Q)
50 rounds
Double action only
Minimum qualifying score 70%
Phase 1—7 yards, hip shooting, crouch position, 24 rounds
Load 6 rounds, fire 1 round on whistle (2 seconds), repeat or fire 2 rounds on whistle (3 seconds), repeat
Load 6 rounds, fire 2 rounds on whistle (3 seconds), repeat
Load 6 rounds, fire 12 rounds on whistle (30 seconds)
Phase 2—15 yards, point shoulder position, 18 rounds
Load 6 rounds, fire 1 round on whistle (2 seconds), repeat or fire 2 rounds on whistle (3 seconds), repeat
Load 6 rounds, fire 2 rounds on whistle (3 seconds), repeat-
Load 6 rounds, fire 6 rounds on whistle (12 seconds)
Phase 3 25 yards, 90 seconds, 18 rounds
Load 6 rounds, on whistle:

- fire 6 rounds, kneeling, strong hand; reload-
- fire 6 rounds, standing behind barricade, weak hand;
- reload fire 6 rounds, standing behind barricade, strong hand (kneeling position may be fired using barricade)

Scoring.

B21, B21X targets: use indicated K value with a maximum 300 points; divide by 3 to obtain percentage.

B27 target: 8, 9, 10, X rings value 5 points; 7 ring value 4 points; other hits on silhouette value 3 points; divide by 3 to obtain percentage.

Q targets: any fired round striking the bottle area to its marked border—value 5 points, any fired round striking outside the bottle area—value 3 points.

Virginia Modified Double Action Course For Semi-Automatic Pistols.

- Target Silhouette (B 21, B 21X, B 27, Q)
- Minimum Qualifying Score 70%

Each officer is restricted to the number of magazines carried on duty. Magazines shall be loaded to their full capacity. The range instructor shall determine when magazines will be changed.

Phase 1—7 yards, hip shooting, crouch position, load magazine, fire 1 round double action on command (2 sec.), or fire 2 rounds (3 seconds), make weapon safe, holster, repeat until 6 rounds have been fired.

On command, draw and fire 2 rounds (3 sec.), make weapon safe, holster, repeat until 6 rounds have been fired.

On command, draw and fire 12 rounds in 20 seconds, make weapon safe, and holster.

Phase 2 15 years point shoulder position. On command, draw and fire 1 round (2 sec.), or draw and fire 2 rounds (3 sec.), make weapon safe, holster, repeat until 6 rounds have been fired.

On command, draw and fire 1 round (2 sec.), or 2 rounds (3 sec.), make weapon safe, holster, repeat until 6 rounds have been fired.

On command, draw and fire 6 rounds (12 sec.), make weapon safe, holster.

Phase 3—25 yards, kneeling and standing position. On command, assume kneeling position, draw weapon and fire 6 rounds, then fire 6 rounds weak hand, standing, barricade position, then fire 6 rounds strong hand, standing, barricade position, until a total of 18 rounds have been fired. (70 seconds)

(Kneeling position may be fired using barricade.)

(Weapons which do not have a double action capability will require the first round be chambered manually.)

Scoring.

B21, B21X targets: use indicated K value with a maximum 300 points; divide by 3 to obtain percentage.

B27 target: 8, 9, 10, X rings value 5 points; 7 ring value 4 points; other hits on silhouette value 3 points; divide by 3 to obtain percentage.

Q targets: any fired round striking the bottle area to its marked border—value 5 points, any fired round striking outside the bottle area—value 3 points.

Virginia 50 round Tactical Qualification Course for Revolvers and Semi automatic Pistols. Target silhouette (B21, B21X, B 27, Q) Minimum Qualifying Score 70%

Each officer is restricted to the number of magazines carried on duty. Magazines shall be loaded to full capacity. The range instructor shall determine when magazines will be changed.

Phase 1—On 5 or 7 yard line or fraction thereof, point shoulder shooting, fire 2 rounds on command in 3 seconds for 12 rounds. Between each 2 rounds holster, repeat until all rounds have been fired.

On command, draw and fire 6 rounds in 8 seconds from point shoulder positions.

On command draw and fire 4 rounds strong hand only, point shoulder point in 8 seconds.

On command, fire 4 rounds, weak hand only, point shoulder position in 10 seconds.

Phase 2 15 yard point shoulder position

On command, draw and fire 2 rounds in 3 seconds for 6 (optional to reholster after each 2 rounds)

On command, draw and fire 6 rounds in 12 seconds, holster.

Phase 3 25 yard, kneeling and standing position on command, assume a kneeling position, draw weapon and fire 6 rounds behind a barricade, than fire 6 rounds strong hand, standing barricade position, until a total of 12 rounds have been fired for a total of 45 seconds for semi automatic pistols or 60 seconds for revolvers. A kneeling position may be fired using a barricade.)

Scoring:

B21, B21x targets: use indicated K value with a minimum of 250 points: Multiply by 4 to obtain percentage.

B27 target: 8, 9 and 10 X rings-value 5 points, 7 ring - value 4 points, other hits on silhouette - value 3 points; multiply by 4 to obtain percent.

- (1) Q target: any fired round striking the bottle area to its marked border—value 5 points, any fired round striking outside the bottle area value 3 points.
- B. Officers of the Department of Corrections, Division of Institutional Services Operations.
 - 1. Handgun
 - a. Double Action Combat Course.
 - Target Silhouette
 - 60 rounds
 - Double action only
 - Minimum qualifying score 70% (points per hit on silhouette minimum 210 points out of a possible 300 points)
 - 7 yards two handed crouch 6 rounds (one on whistle)

- 7 yards two handed crouch 6 rounds (two on whistle)
- 7 yards two handed crouch 12 rounds (30 seconds from whistle)
- 15 yards two handed point shoulder 6 rounds (one on whistle)
- 15 yards two handed point shoulder 6 rounds (two on whistle)
- 15 yards two handed point shoulder 12 rounds (30 seconds from whistle)
- 25 yards two handed point shoulder 6 rounds (10 seconds/right hand)
- 25 yards two handed point shoulder 6 rounds (10 seconds/left hand)
- C . Law-enforcement officers, jailors or custodial officers, courtroom security officers, civil process officers and officers of the Department of Corrections, Division of Institutional Services.
 - 1. Special weapons.
 - a. All agencies whose personnel possess, or have available for immediate use, shotguns or other similar special weapons, shall design an appropriate qualification weapons program and require all applicable personnel to complete annually.
 - b. The course, number of rounds to be fired and qualification score shall be determined by the agency or approved training school. Documentation of such qualification programs shall be available for inspection by the director or staff.

Statutory Authority

§9-170-9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR240-01-2 §8; eff. January 1, 1988; amended, Virginia Register Volume 5, Issue 18, eff. July 5, 1989; Volume 8, Issue 16, eff. July 1, 1992.

Cross references

Compulsory in-service training standards, 6VAC2-30-30

6 VAC 20-30-90 Failure to comply with rules and regulations.

Officers attending approved in-service training shall comply with the rules and regulations promulgated by the board and any other rules and regulations within the authority of the academy director. The academy director shall be responsible for enforcement of all rules and regulations established to govern the conduct of attendees. If the academy director considers a violation of the rules and regulations detrimental to the welfare of the conduct of the academy, the academy director may expel the officer. Notification of such action shall immediately be reported in writing to the agency administrator and the director.

Statutory Authority

9-170-9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR240-01-2 §9; eff. January 1, 1988; amended, Virginia Register Volume 5, Issue 18, eff. July 5, 1989; Volume 8, Issue 16, eff. July 1, 1992.

6 VAC 20-30-100 Administrative requirements.

Reports will be required from the agency administrator and academy director on forms approved by the department and at such times as designated by the director.

Statutory Authority

§9-170-9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

 $Derived from\ VR240-01-2\ \S 10; eff.\ January\ 1,\ 1988; amended,\ Virginia\ Register\ Volume\ 5,\ Issue\ 18,\ eff.\ July\ 5,\ 1989;\ Volume\ 8,\ Issue\ 16,\ eff.\ July\ 1,\ 1992.$

6 VAC 20-30-110 Effective date.

These rules shall be effective on and after July 1, 1992, and until amended or repealed.

Statutory Authority

§9-170-9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR240-01-2 §11; eff. January 1, 1988; amended, Virginia Register Volume 5, Issue 18, eff. July 5, 1989; Volume 8, Issue 16, eff. July 1, 1992

6 VAC 20-30-120 Adopted.

This chapter was adopted July 11, 1974.

Statutory Authority

§9-170-9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR240-01-2 §12; eff. January 1, 1988; amended, Virginia Register Volume 5, Issue 18, eff. July 5, 1989; Volume 8, Issue 16, eff. July 1, 1992.

6 VAC 20-30-130 Amended.

This chapter was amended: January 1, 1988 May 3, 1989 April 1, 1992

Statutory Authority

 $\S9-170-9.1-102$ of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR240-01-2 §13; eff. January 1, 1988; amended, Virginia Register Volume 5, Issue 18, eff. July 5, 1989; Volume 8, Issue 16, eff. July 1, 1992.

FORMS

PIC-1 Form, eff. 9/93.